Author: Omaghchess (page 3 of 4)

Scenes from the Bunratty International Chess Tournament

Omaghs’ John Harding playing in the Blitz friendly tournament. Judging by the position of the white king, things could be looking bad for international master, Mark Heidenfeld!




The Major and minor playing rooms


Bunratty Castle

Check the Omagh Chess Games link to view games.

Upcoming fixture

Omagh vs Enniskillen

Omagh Library

Midday Saturday April 16th 2016


Omagh Rapidplay Tournament


These are the group winners from the recent rapidplay tournament in the local Christian Brothers school. This competition was very efficiently organized by Ross Harris from the Ulster Chess Union ( third from right).  Second, third and fourth from the left are Omagh club players, John Harding, John Bradley and James White.

A photo of the year

This is one of the Guardians’ photos of the year. In an 18 match simultaneous in Zagreb, Croatia, Kasparov has moved on from a young opponent, who has just realized things could be going better! Guess we have all been there.

New season

Omagh chess club recommences at 11am on January 9th 2016. Championship matches start on the following Saturday. First division matches shall be 1hr 30 minutes per player for all moves. Other divisions shall be played without clocks as usual.


After an 11 year sojourn in Tyrone, one of our clubs best players, Alex Kacziba, has returned to Hungary. His competitiveness will be missed in Omagh and we wish him much success and happiness in the future.

Enniskillen vs Omagh

An admittedly understrength Omagh team travelled to the Bridge centre on Nov 30th to play an intensely fought match against Enniskillen. With one of the home players proving elusive and a default recorded, a 4-4 draw was probably a relief to both teams! We look forward to the return match in the spring against our favourite adversaries.


Board no.                   Enniskillen                         Omagh

1                            (w) John Phillips    1        –      0   Alex Kacziba

2                            (b) Torsten Jentch  0        –     1  John Harding

3                            (w)Eibhia Ni Mhuireagain 1 –  0 Paddy Largey

4                            (b)Colm Ni Mhuireagain   0 –  1 Adrian Gilmore

5                            (w)Peter McGirr (Default) 0  –  1 James White

6                            (b)Tanya Jones                  0  –  1 Anthony White

7                            (w) Jacky Cheung              1  –  0 Darragh McKane

8                            (b) Micheal Callaghan      1   –  0 Jordan Crossan


Missing from the pic below is Enniskillens’ Tanya Jones,Michael Callaghan and Jacky Cheung.


(Copyrighted by John Bradley Photography Ltd.)


Older posts Newer posts

© 2018 Omagh Chess Club

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑